The crucifixion through the old testament scriptures

It is amazing to go back and read the prophecies of the crucifixion and the specificity of them.  Many of the prophecies come from Psalm 22.  It seems that Jesus, hanging on the cross, wanted to point people to that exact scripture, to remind them of the words of David they had all memorized, to see the signs being fulfilled right before their eyes.

He loudly proclaims (perhaps the only loud thing He has spoken since being accused), “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” (Psalm 22:1).  Jesus is quoting the opening line of a part of scripture that is filled with prophecies they have just witnessed and are still witnessing.

Versus 7-8, “All who see me mock me; they hurl insults, shaking their heads. “He trusts in the Lord,” they say, “let the Lord rescue him. Let him deliver him, since he delights in him.”

16-18 continue, “Dogs surround me, a pack of villains encircles me; they pierce my hands and my feet. All my bones are on display; people stare and gloat over me. They divide my clothes among them and cast lots for my garment.

Much of the rest of that scripture is reminding Israel that all who turn to the Lord will be delivered.  And then it ends with verse 31 showing this salvation is even for future generations. “They will proclaim his righteousness, declaring to a people yet unborn: He has done it!”

Now lets look at a few prophecies from Isaiah 53.

Verse 5 referencing the crucifixion itself, “But he was pierced for our transgressions; he was crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with his wounds we are healed.

Verse 7 talks about his “trial”, “He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth; like a lamb that is led to the slaughter, and like a sheep that before its shearers is silent, so he opened not his mouth.

From arrest to resurrection 28 old testament prophecies were fulfilled before they eyes of the Jews.  I pray that more of them continue to recognize this and become “Messianic Jews”, recognizing the grace that Jesus has already provided us.

Leave a Reply

