Questioning God…

It’s simple really.  We do it all the time.  We question why He does one thing and not the other.  Why  save this person and not that one.  Why call this person to you so early in life and wait for so long for another, and yet not even call another.

There are theological classes on the subject, volumes of books written, entire sermons given… and still nobody can answer these questions.  Some have even turned away from God as a result of this struggle.  If you are reading this and have every questioned God, struggled with His response or lack of response to a prayer request, then please read on.

I simply want to point out two simple facts.  These may or may not ease your conscience or suffering, but I pray they put some perspective into the discussion.

First, our mental capacity

Quite simply, our finite minds are simply not able to comprehend everything that an infinite God can fathom.  I realize this sounds like a cop-out, but it’s true.  Think of it as an adult relates to their child.  You’ve had multiple decades to learn and understand the world around you and they’ve had only a few years.  There is no physical way they can comprehend what your adult mind can.  This example is only using to finite minds a couple decades apart.  Imagine the different when the other ‘mind’ has been around longer than time itself.

Second, He’s the creator

Again, this may sound trite, but it’s right out of His word.  “Does the clay say to him who forms it, ‘What are you making?’ or ‘Your work has no handles’? (Isaiah 45:9b)

Since God not only created us, but the entire world around us, it actually seems quite hilarious for us “the clay” to be questioning anything the “potter” does in His creation.  It really is that simple.  I realize someone who does not fully accept the Bible has the infallible word of God may not accept this.  But anyone who grasps the fact that the very text we have in the Bible is the full and complete word of God, has to accept this text for what it says.  We are not to challenge God.

This doesn’t mean we are not to question Him, for sometimes He hides His own answers in the questioning.  But we are to accept that the “potter” knows more about what He’s doing than the “clay” does.

Lord, help me to remember this in my daily struggles.  When I am puzzled by your seeming lack of response to a prayer request, or frustrated that you answered in a way I was not hoping for… help me to remember that I am merely the clay in your hands.  I have no desire to change or alter your plans.  I may pray for my will to be done, but only when it is within your will to do it.  Thank you for continuing the good work you began in me.  Thank you for calling me to you.  Thank you for the life you have given me, the family you have given me, even the struggles you have given me to learn through.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

