Those who know me well, know that I love to quote movies.  It’s sometimes uncontrollable.  I call it QT (quotable turrets).  Somebody says something and it ques a movie line buried deep in my brain and out it pops, as if it were my queue for a live performance or something.

Well, my kids are well aware of my quote from the movie “Mr. Mom”.  Every time somebody would try to tell ‘Jack’ that he was ‘doing it wrong’ he would simply respond… “I’m doing it the Jack Butler method”.  My favorite example is when he is ‘multi tasking’ in the kitchen.  Cooking, cleaning, ironing, watching a soap opera, etc.  One kids bring wet socks to him and says his socks didn’t get dried out all the way in the dryer.  His ‘Jack Butler’ solution is to through them in the microwave.  Another kids brings him his grilled cheese can complains the cheese is not melted.  No problem with the ‘Jack Butler’ method, just hold it under the iron for a few seconds.  Problem solved.

God had a similar line in Isaiah 55.  Yes, I just compared an 80’s movie line to scripture but stay with me.  Isaiah is reciting the Lords words when he says “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isa 55:8-9)  He doesn’t do this our way, he responds

There are no shortages of times in our lives when we look at what we expect as a solution and God’s answer is totally different.  We don’t understand it.  We’re confused and perhaps even frustrated.  But our finite brains can only fathom so much of His wisdom.  Often His ways make clear and simple since to us.  But many times, we’re left in shock, wondering about his ways.

In these moments, we feel like the Butler kids in Mr Mom and say (sometimes even yell) “You’re doing it wrong!!!”  Just remember, He’s not doing it wrong, He’s responding “I’m doing it the Almighty God method.”

Leave a Reply

