Have you ever been in a place where you just feel you’re all alone?  Perhaps in work or family or even church relationships, people just seem to let you down.  You’re looking around just feeling all alone.  At that moment, it can become easy to question God’s plan.  It can become tempting to wonder perhaps how you fit into His plan.  Maybe you don’t get to a point to doubt His existence but you begin to wonder if His plan really includes you.  The world around you has turned its back on Him and you begin to wonder if you’re the only one left… begin to question those convictions.

I wanted to read something in the Old Testament prophets today and came to Micah 7.  The first 6 verses of this chapter certainly show a world I describe above.  “The godly has perished from the earth, and there is no one upright among mankind.” (Micah 7:2a)  The other verses follow this theme.  Everything and everyone around Micah is falling apart.  There seems no hope.  “Put no trust in a neighbor; have no confidence in a friend; guard the doors of your mouth from her who lies in your arms; for the son treats the father with contempt, the daughter rises up against her mother, the daughter-in-law against her other-in-law; a man’s enemies are the men of his own house.” (v 5-6)

Yet, even the midst of this horrible picture, Micah holds fast to his hope.  “But as for me, I will look to the Lord; I will wait for the God of my salvation; my God will hear me. Rejoice not over me, O my enemy; when I fall, I shall rise; when I sit in darkness, the Lord will be a light to me.” (v 7-8)

Micah admits his own failings, but says he will rise again.  Even when ALL is dark around him, the Lord will be his light.  He even recognizes there is righteous judgement due against him but the Lord will protect even against that in the end. “I will bear the indignation of the Lord because I have sinned against him, until he pleads my cause
and executes judgment for me. He will bring me out to the light; I shall look upon his vindication.” (v 9)

Micah tells us clearly that the world will turn its back on Him.  Even those whom we think will not, still will.  Even members of our own household can be in that camp.  We will never know where those attacks come from.  He also reminds us that we are due a judgement and punishment more severe than we ever face.  Paul even says basically the same thing Micah said in verse 9, “For the wages of sin is death” (Rom 6:23a).

The perceived punishment we face in this world is nothing compared to what we deserve.  Micah says it clearly in verse 18 “Who is a God like you, pardoning iniquity and passing over transgression for the remnant of his inheritance? He does not retain his anger forever, because he delights in steadfast love.”  And Paul finishes with “but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Rom 6:23b)

But don’t just take my word for it, or the word of a prophet of God or an Apostle of Christ… listen to Jesus himself… “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

He has overcome this world.  He has given you a free gift of eternal life through grace.  There is no negative in this life that is bigger than Him.  “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matt 11:28)

Leave a Reply

