I have to admit, I’ve had my share of trials.  Don’t get me wrong, I know MANY people who have had what most would say is “more than their share” of trials.  In the midst of these trials, it’s not always easy to hear, see or even feel God’s presence.  But then we remember the words of Jesus, “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world” (John 16:33)

Being connected with the adoption community, knowing so many people who have adopted special needs kids, I’ve seen a lot of trials.  These needs can be from minor to sever.  For us parents facing these trials as a result of adoption, it can be easy to have our moments (sometimes way longer than moments) where we actually question if we did the right thing.  Some of those moments can bring us to our knees, sometimes praying for relief, sometimes out of guilt for wanting to go back and undo it all.

It seems that no matter how tough of a circumstance I face, there seems to be someone I know facing harder circumstances, and not always with adoption.  While most of the special needs children I know are in their families through adoption, there are also many that are special needs through birth or perhaps even as a result of an accident.  There are people with other family members and loved ones who are facing life altering or even life ending conditions.

I think in those moments, “I was sad for I had no shoes, until I met a man who had no feet.”  The truth is, there is not a circumstance around that others have not already faced and defeated.  And in the fallen world we live in, there’s not a circumstance around that is equal to what we really deserve in our sinful state.

I am NOT saying that these circumstances are as a result of some sin in our lives.  I AM saying that the world in a sinful and fallen place, which Jesus has overcome.

God’s word is the only thing that can bring us through these tribulations.  Whether it comes from a song, a friend’s reminder, prayer time or just directly reading the word… it is His word that reminds us that He is in control.

  • For you have been a stronghold to the poor, a stronghold to the needy in his distress, a shelter from the storm and a shade from the heat; for the breath of the ruthless is like a storm against a wall” (Isaiah 25:4)
  • I cry to you, O Lord; I say, “You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.” (Psalm 142:5)
  • For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.  Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” (Hebrews 4:15-16)
  • Count it all joy, my brothers,[b] when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.” (James 1:2-3)
  • “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” (Psalm 23:4)
  • “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted” (Matt 5:3-4)

Lord, I never would ask for more trials.  I won’t request that you test me more.  But I do thank you for the trials I have faced and that you have overcome for me.  Your steadfast love has no borders or limits.  Your grace covers all.  Thank you Lord for never leaving nor forsaking me in my times of trial.  Thank you for your sacrifice that claimed victory of this sinful world for all eternity.

Amen

Leave a Reply

