Adoption is a powerful thing.  It is a rebirth of sorts.  When I was about 2 1/2 – 3 years old, I was adopted by a new father.  Not my Father in Heaven, that adoption didn’t come until I was 24.  This adoption was by a new earthly father.  As a result of that adoption, I was made new, sort of.  My DNA didn’t change of course but several other things did.  I would now be raised by a new dad, with new training.  My name changed too.  As a result of this adoption, everything about my future changed on that day.

Later, when I was 38, my wife and I adopted two children and they were reborn of sorts.  Their DNA remained, they brought some baggage along with them (just like we all do).  But their names changed, their teaching and training changed, even their social security numbers changed.  They were made new as a result of that adoption.

The adoption I want to focus on today is our adoption in Christ.  In many ways, these earthly adoptions are similar to the eternal adoption.  When I was adopted by Christ at the age of 24, my DNA remained the same.  I still made similar mistakes as before, but my teaching and training changed.  As a result, I changed the way I live my life.  I no longer lived for me but for Him.  Adoption also changed what we are to inherit in the future.  Adoption in Christ is the same but that inheritance is so much greater.

Peter puts it this way, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.  In this you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trials,  so that the tested genuineness of your faith—more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire—may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.”

Yes, to be “born again to a living hope” is a result of the adoption we have received through the Spirit.  It is a glorious and magnificent thing.  When we are adopted, we are made new, we are born again with a new hope.  We will one day be reunited with our Lord and Savior for eternity.

If you like these blogs, please click the “Follow” button in the top right corner of this post and also please pass along to your friends on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

