It is easy to find myself getting very frustrated about the horrible Godless society we live in.  Here in our state, we even had a law passed on 12/25/15 requiring companies to allow people to use the bathroom, shower room or locker room of the gender they identify with.  This is only one example of the extreme pagan world we live in, especially here in the Pacific Northwest.  It’s enough to light my hair on fire… and I’m bald.

But then I read in 1 Peter 2 today, “Dear friends, I urge you, as foreigners and exiles, to abstain from sinful desires, which wage war against your soul.  Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.” (v 11-12)  Out of this I get two vital truths that can guide me in this crazy world.

Still do good

The first obvious truth is that we are to live good lives even in a bad world.  After all, we are foreigners in this land, citizens in Heaven.  This means that as this world become more and more pagan, it becomes easier and easier to fall to temptation.  These temptations grow around us in their frequency and intensity.  Yet we are to ‘abstain from sinful desires which wage war’ against us.

The good in us will cause us to stand out from the crowd.  While society is going one way, we will be going the other.  This will become more and more obvious as the world gets darker.  But that’s the point right.  If we are a bright light and the world around us is also bright, our light cannot shine.  But as the world around us gets darker and darker, the brightness of our light gets brighter and brighter by contrast.  Keep your light on.

Don’t be quiet

This is the less obvious truth I get from this text.  To be careful, let’s examine the next sentence in the text before I dive into this truth.  Verse 13 says, “ Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every human authority:whether to the emperor, as the supreme authority.”  So when I say “don’t be quiet” I AM NOT suggesting that you fight against the authority.  There is such thing as civil disobedience and there may be a time for that, but that’s not what I’m talking about here.

What I’m talking about is making your conflict with the ways of the pagan world known.  Part of v 12 from before says ‘though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds.’  The only way they will accuse you of doing wrong is if your objection to their ways is made known.

So what does all of this mean then?

First it means don’t be surprise by the degradation of our world.  It will become more and more pagan as time goes on until the end times when Jesus returns.  Read Revelation and see just how bad things get before He returns.

Second, stand your ground.  Put on the armor of God and fight harder against the growing temptations of this world.  The darker it gets, the brighter His light will shine to those who seek Him.


I pray that you appreciate my blogs.  They are my way of journaling as I read His word.  If you do like them, please be sure to click the Follow Hisfamily Ministries button in the top right corner AND to spread the word.  Share these posts with others and perhaps they will be blessed too.

3 thoughts on “Foreigners in a pagan world

  1. I am not a christian, I do not identify with any religion.. but I have to tell you, I too live in Wa State and am sickened with the bathroom law.. I hope it is repealed. It disgusts me.. for the safety of my daughters I really hope it is!

    1. Erica, although I approached this issue from a faith perspective, it is certainly an issue that crosses all beliefs. It saddened me that 100% of the elected Democrats and 3 of the Republicans actually approved this.

      1. Yes I do not understand this. It makes absolutely no sense to me at all! To appease a small group we will be putting children and women into potentially dangerous situations. It seems that people have their heads on backwards with this one!

Leave a Reply

