My typical approach to my daily reading (in addition to anything I’m actually studying) is to use bibledice.com to generate a random scripture… then I read the whole chapter it references, not just that one verse.  Today, I had my son with me (whom we are doing a lot of psychological evaluations for) and we read all of Luke 9 together.  After reading 13 stories in 62 verses, I asked my son which of the 13 stories stood out to him.

“The one about the boy” he said… “with the demon”.  “OK” I said, lets read just those seven verses again”, and we did.  (Luke 9:37-43)  “Now, what does that story say to you?… Why did that story stand out from the others?”  He was quiet and didn’t want to talk about it.  But with some coaching, he eventually said… “I think that’s me.”

Now part of me saw a boy seeking to blame his own issues on a demon so he was not responsible… but part of me saw a scared little boy that thought… what if.  He needed assurance that there was no demon inside of him.  Luckily for him, the Holy Spirit was very present and can verify if a demon is present.

I said, “who is Jesus to you?”  “My Lord and Savior” he responded.  Well there we go, this was simple then.  You see, “Even the demons believe” (James 2:19), but that verse finishes with “and shudder!”  You see, demons know that Jesus is the Son of God.  They even know that He will come to torment them at the appointed time.  But they can never claim the He is their Lord and Savior.

That part of my little boy that was simply scared of the what if.. was relieved to know that he was clean of any evil spirits.  But that part of my little boy that wanted desperately to have something else to blame his behavior on… was a little disappointed.  So my teaching time with him was not done.

“You know, sometimes we just make poor decisions.  And sometimes we make decisions we think are smart at the time but we just don’t have all the right information.  The doctors we’re meeting with are just helping us to figure out how you process information, so we can learn how to help you the most.”

So today… my personal devotion time got real personal.  But to take it more broad for others reading this.  I do believe there are some people out there that can truthfully say “the devil made me do it”.  But “if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead” (Rom 10:9), then you are saved… and don’t have a demon inside of you.  We do live in a fallen world and we are all sinful creatures.  Even the best of us will make mistakes, sometimes rather huge mistakes.  But rest assured… if you are saved, nothing “will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Rom 8:39)


 

I pray that you appreciate my blogs.  They are my way of journaling as I read His word.  If you do like them, please be sure to click the Follow Hisfamily Ministries button in the top right corner AND to spread the word.  Share these posts with others and perhaps they will be blessed too.

Leave a Reply

