There are countless times in my life where I was missing someone.

Just after I was married, my wife went on her first business trip.  We had been married maybe a month and now she was gone for almost a week.  I missed her a ton.  But even missing her presence, I was able to talk to her daily on the phone.  I even tried to look up flights to come see her on her trip.  Her absence was felt but I was still seeking ways to connect.

Then there are those times where you simply miss someone you cannot connect with.  Perhaps a loved one that has passed away.  You long for their presence but have no way to connect with them.

Have you ever felt that you could not connect to God, that he was not there… that things were so bad, you had done so much wrong, you were is such a dark place that God was not there?

David addressed this fear in Psalm 139.  The first six verses are all about how well God knows him, but then the tone changes in v.7.  These next six verses are all about David’s awareness that there is no place he can ever go and not feel the presence of God.  Even in the darkest of dark, God’s light will still shine.

Where shall I go from your Spirit?
    Or where shall I flee from your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, you are there!
    If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there!
If I take the wings of the morning
    and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
10 even there your hand shall lead me,
    and your right hand shall hold me.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me,
    and the light about me be night,”
12 even the darkness is not dark to you;
    the night is bright as the day,
    for darkness is as light with you.

When Moses was at the very end of his life, he wrote “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.” (Deut 31:6)  Despite what he had gone through, despite the fact that he would not enter the promised land as he had hoped, he was telling all of Israel (and us) that God is ALWAYS with us, no matter what.

Moses was speaking here what Jacob had lived out and Paul would later right about.  Even in the darkest of times, God knows and sees all and is working everything to His greater good.  Jacob’s being sold into slavery, and thrown in prison a couple times eventually led to him assuming the 2nd most powerful role in Egypt and putting him into a position to save his brothers who would eventually be the twelve tribes of Israel.  That is an amazing story of God taking horrible acts of earthly sin and turning them into beautiful steps in His glorious plan.

Paul then reminds the Romans that “we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” (Rom 8:28)

If you have accepted Jesus as your Lord and Savior, he will never forsake you.  He will always be present.  This doesn’t mean He will stop horrible things from happening, but it does mean that He will still work those horrible things into beautiful things to bring Him glory.

And if you have not yet accepted Jesus as your personal Lord and Savior, there’s still time.  There’s nothing complicated about it.  “if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” (Rom 10:9)

Simply say to Him, “Lord, I don’t yet know you but I want to.  I accept the fact you died for me and you desire to show your love to me, and I want that.  Please allow your Spirit to enter me so that I may have your Love and show it to the world.  Amen”


I pray that you appreciate my blogs.  They are my way of journaling as I read His word.  If you do like them, please be sure to click the Follow Hisfamily Ministries button in the top right corner AND to spread the word.  Share these posts with others and perhaps they will be blessed too.

Leave a Reply

