Elvis Presley wrote a very famous song called “Return to Sender”.  Have that melody in mind as I rewrite the lyrics a bit.

I gave my son to the people,
to meet them where they’re at.
But every single generation,
Just sends Him right on back.

They say to me:
Return to sender, your warning we won’t heed.
A Savior we don’t want, a Savior we don’t need.

They haven’t earned it,
but I show them my grace.
I sent my Son to love them,
and die in their place.

Then I raise Him up and,
conquered sin for them.
But instead of having faith,
They rejected Him.

They said to me:
Return to sender, your warning we won’t heed.
A Savior we don’t want, a Savior we don’t need.

In the original song, the there were three figures; the sender, the postman and ‘her’.  In this version the sender is obviously God, ‘she’ is the unbelieving world and the adopted children of God (Christians saved by Grace) are the postman.

Every day, God gives us His love letter to deliver to the one He is calling to be His bride.  We carry that message to the world in the way we live, talk, lead, teach, disciple and demonstrate His love.  And every day, we are met with varied response.  Some accept, some question and some reject the message out right.  But remember, we are not the message, we are the postman.  It is not US they are rejecting… it is Him.

As Jesus sent off the disciples on their first mission trip, He warned them that His Word they were carrying would not be received by all.  He said to them, “The one who hears you hears me, and the one who rejects you rejects me, and the one who rejects me rejects him who sent me.” (Luke 10:16)

As the postman would never quit his job because a letter was returned to the sender, we should never quit sharing the Gospel because someone rejected it.  We should pray for them, and follow His advice.  “And if anyone will not receive you or listen to your words, shake off the dust from your feet when you leave that house or town.” (Matt 10:14)


I pray that you appreciate my blogs.  They are my way of journaling as I read His word.  If you do like them, please be sure to click the Follow Hisfamily Ministries button left of this post AND to spread the word.  Share these posts with others and perhaps they will be blessed too.

Leave a Reply

