We’ve all heard of stories about Olympic Gold Medalists, who after achieving everything they have been working for… face serious problems and depression.  This is not universal, but it is common, and not just in sports.  In many things, when someone has set such a lofty goal, worked so hard, given everything they have… and they achieve it… there can often be a void that follows.  Now what.

Inigo Montoya summed it up perfectly at the end of “The Princess Bride”.  He said, “I have been in the revenge business so long, now that it’s over, I do not know what to do with the rest of my life.”  As he had said earlier in the moving, “I dedicated my life to the study of fencing. So the next time we meet, I will not fail. I will go up to the six-fingered man and say, “Hello. My name is Iñigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”

Whether it is a fictional character bent on revenge or an Olympic athlete set on the gold… in either case… the time comes when everything they have worked for, is accomplished.  So now what?

When we set our goals on earthly things, that we can accomplish with our own hard work and determination… we are doomed to eventual sadness.  Either from failure or success, eventually all that work is done.  However, when we set our goals on eternal things, that we can only accomplish with the help of the Holy Spirit, we are never done, but always progressing.

Paul was writing to the church of Philippi and explaining that we have nothing to boast about in the flesh.  All we should be about is the Spirit, our growth and development of relationship with Christ.  He said, “I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.” (Phil 3:10-11)

But then he explains that this is the journey of a lifetime.  “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.  Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (Phil 12-14) (my emphasis added)

I am not at all saying that we should have no earthly human goals that can be accomplished with our flesh.  On the contrary, those are valuable and important in our life.  However, they should never be the BHAG (Big Harry Audacious Goal).  Our biggest goal should always be the prize Paul is talking about.  To eventually be called home to Jesus and hear “Well done, good and faithful servant!” (Matt 25:21)


I pray that you appreciate my blogs.  They are my way of journaling as I read His word.  If you do like them, please be sure to click the Follow Hisfamily Ministries button left of this post AND to spread the word.  Share these posts with others and perhaps they will be blessed too.

Leave a Reply

