An optimist, a pessimist and a structural engineer are walking through the jungle.  They come across this huge gorge with a suspension foot bridge as the only way across.

The pessimist is the first to voice concern.  We don’t know how old this bridge is, if it’s safe… we don’t even know if it takes us to where we want to go.

The optimist gets excited, quickly runs out and celebrates the beauty of the view, then finishes his way across.

The engineer takes his time and examines the bridge carefully.  After a thorough evaluation, he deems it safe and simply walks across.

Now the pessimist, having seen two people cross, begins to have just enough faith to step onto the bridge.  However he grips the rail so tight and moves so slowly, it takes him twice as long to cross.

Which of the three was in more danger while crossing the bridge?

None of them.  Because their safety was never determined by their attitude about the bridge and it was never determined by the depth of their research or examination.  Their safety was ONLY determined by the quality of the bridge itself.

Tim Keller says it this way.  “It is not the strength of your faith but the object of your faith that actually saves you.”

This concept eliminates much fear in life.  As I go through life’s ups and down and twists and turns, the depth and quality of my faith life can change.  The best thing to know is that it’s never about how strong or weak my faith is… It’s all about what I put my faith in.  I choose to put my faith in the Creator of the Universe who made me just the way I am.

It is not my faith or my strength I rely on, it is His strength in me.  “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” (Phil 4:13)

Leave a Reply

