If you’ve never watched the show, “Who’s line is it anyway?” is very funny.  There are several version over the years (originally starting in Great Britain) but my favorite is the seasons with Drew Carey as the host.  The show brings laughter through a sort of impromptu acting.  I say sort of because there are themes and strategies they use but it can go so many ways… it’s very off the cuff.  In this show, the confusion and unknown of who is about to do or say what is what brings part of the comedy.  The other part is obviously the delivery of those lines.

When I read today’s reading in Genesis 24, there were several places where the main character of this chapter (a servant of Abraham) would refer to God as the “God of my master, Abraham”.  By how he acts, it’s obvious he has great respect for Abraham.  No doubt he has seen some amazing things being one of the most trusted servants of Abraham over the years.  He apparently fully trusts Abraham and is quite obedient.  In this time, it is also obvious he has become trusting in the God that Abraham served to deliver when called upon, yet he still calls Him Abraham’s God instead of his own.

Here’s one example of that trust.  “And he said, “O Lord, God of my master Abraham, please grant me success today and show steadfast love to my master Abraham. Behold, I am standing by the spring of water, and the daughters of the men of the city are coming out to draw water.  Let the young woman to whom I shall say, ‘Please let down your jar that I may drink,’ and who shall say, ‘Drink, and I will water your camels’—let her be the one whom you have appointed for your servant Isaac. By this I shall know that you have shown steadfast love to my master.”” (Gen 24:12-14)

He sets out a very specific test to verify the woman is sent or approved by the “God of Abraham” and that His response to this specific request will show that God has steadfast love to his master.  No doubt this servant likely thought he himself was not worthy to have such a God himself but he was impressed that Abraham was so wonderful that he had such an amazing God.  He obviously believed in this God, obviously trusted Him to deliver, knew He was capable… but still could not consider Him to be his own God.

When I talk to someone who grew up in the church, and I ask them when they became a Christian, they typically say a very young age.  They just always grew up believing in God and knowing He was real.  However, my followup question is this.  When did God stop being your parent’s God and become your own?  You see, kids growing up with believing parents are not unlike the servant in the story, they trust in believe in the God of their parents.  But at some point in their life, God needs to no longer be the God of their parents and needs to become their own Lord and Savior.

For me, that was 24.  I never doubted the God of my parents.  I even occasionally prayed to Him, read His book, attended His church, etc.  But at 24, God became my person Lord and Savior.  As long as God is removed by one or more positions; God of your parents, God of your friends, God of your teacher, etc. He will never be your personal Lord and Savior.  When you remove all the buffers between you and God and make Him yours… when you finally confess with your mouth that Jesus Christ is YOUR Lord and believe in your heart that He died on the cross for YOUR sins and God raised Him from the dead… then YOU are saved.

Don’t accept God as someone else’s God, make Him yours!


I pray that you appreciate my blogs.  They are my way of journaling as I read His word.  If you do like them, please be sure to click the Follow Hisfamily Ministries button left of this post AND to spread the word.  Share these posts with others and perhaps they will be blessed too.

Leave a Reply

