Are you a parent?  If so, you have undoubtedly had that moment where your eyes were opened to certain behaviors your parents had when you were a child.  It seems that once you have children of your own, your eyes are opened to how a parent actually thinks.  Whether you had parents that gave you good examples or not, you will have this experience to some degree.  It happens throughout our life.  We reach a point where things we witnessed earlier in life (that were confusing to us at the time) are finally made clear.

For the disciples, that moment was after the resurrection.  In Luke’s account of the resurrection, he states twice that after the resurrection, Jesus actually opened their eyes and minds to the real meaning of the scriptures.  “Then he said to them, “These are my words that I spoke to you while I was still with you, that everything written about me in the Law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms must be fulfilled.” Then he opened their minds to understand the Scriptures, and said to them, “Thus it is written, that the Christ should suffer and on the third day rise from the dead, and that repentance for the forgiveness of sins should be proclaimed in his name to all nations, beginning from Jerusalem. You are witnesses of these things. And behold, I am sending the promise of my Father upon you. But stay in the city until you are clothed with power from on high.”” (Luke 24:44-49)

The scriptures had been there for thousands of years, but the true meaning was not made clear until Jesus opened their minds.  And Jesus is the only one who can open their minds to the true understanding of the scriptures.  And He could not open their minds, eyes and hearts to the true meaning until the scriptures had been fulfilled.  Now that eternal death had been defeated by His blood, our minds could be opened.

As we attempt to explain what is clear to us, to another who is still without Christ in their heart… it can be frustrating.  Our mind has been opened and their’s has not.  And despite it being our job to share the good news, it is not our job to open their mind to understand the scriptures.  Only He can do that.

So keep sharing the good news, keep demonstrating the gospel in your life.  And your prayer should not for them to stop being stubborn, it should be that Christ would open their mind to the scriptures.  And no matter what, in His time… He will.


I pray that you appreciate my blogs.  They are my way of journaling as I read His word.  If you do like them, please be sure to click the Follow Hisfamily Ministries button left of this post AND to spread the word.  Share these posts with others and perhaps they will be blessed too.

One thought on “Understanding beyond the cross

  1. I still remember my mind and heart being opened to the Scriptures…..it was very real and my perspective was changed from seeing very litte to seeing much . Specifically, I remember my heart seeing the separation of the world from God. I knew that I I had chosen to follow Christ and was secure and confident in that decision. Today, I am even more confident and richly living-God had blessed me continuously.

Leave a Reply

